Who we are

Meet the team

We work out of three UK bases around Cumbria. Our Northern office at Gosling Sike near Carlisle, our Southern office at Plumgarths on the outskirts of Kendal, and our South Walney Nature Reserve near Barrow-In-Furness.

President: Lord Inglewood
Vice Presidents: Pippa Bonner, Susan Garnett, Geoffrey Halliday, David Hill, Sir Martin Holdgate, Susan Johnson, Dr. Anne Powell OBE, Margaret Sutcliffe, Judith Wallen

Our board of trustees

View Board of Trustees Bios

Chair of the Board: David Sharrod
Treasurer: Julie Barrett
Secretary: Jane Wilson
Conservation Committee Chair: Peter Woodhead
Development Committee Chair: Graham Hooley
Trustees: Philip Byle, Emily Coates, Volker Deecke, Cressida Inglewood, Fiona Southern

Our staff

Senior Management Team

CEO: Stephen Trotter
Conservation Manager: David Harpley
Development Manager: Helen Duxbury
Finance & Administration Manager: Chris Haddock

Wider Countryside team

Senior Nature Recovery Network Officer: recruiting
Senior Living Landscapes Officer: Graham Jackson-Pitt
Senior Marine Conservation Officer: Emily Baxter
Marine Conservation Officer: Georgia de Jong Cleyndert
Red Squirrels Northern England Project Manager: Heinz Trout
Peatland Restoration Officers: Simon Thomas, Heidi Buck, Susie Lane
Conservation Officer: Mike Sturt
Grassland Conservation Officer: Christa Nelson
Get Cumbria Buzzing! Project Manager: Tanya St. Pierre
Get Cumbria Buzzing! Project Officers:  Lucy Graham, Melanie Shears
Get Cumbria Buzzing! Finance & Administration Officer: Edward Evans

Nature Reserves team

Reserve Officers -  View staff Bios

Senior Reserves Officer: Joe Murphy
South Western Reserves Officer: Peter Jones
Southern Reserves Officer: Paul Waterhouse
Eastern Reserves Officer: Andrew Walter
Northern Reserves Officer: Kevin Scott
Reserves Officer & South Walney Nature Reserve Warden: Sarah Dalrymple
Staveley Woodlands Officer: Danielle Chalmers
Plumgarths Gardener: Julia Sier

Education & Volunteering team

Senior Education, Training and Volunteering Officer: Jamie Normington - View staff Bio     
Dynamic Dunescapes People & Engagement Officer: Eve Mullholland

Development team

Development Manager: Helen Duxbury
Senior Fundraising Officer: Hazel Jones
Senior Development Officer: Michelle Waller
Membership Development Officer: Katie Keighley
Senior Marketing Officer: Charlotte Rowley
Gosling Sike Development Manager: Jody Ferguson
Publicity Officer: Rose Welshman
Publications Officer: Andrea Simpson
Digital Marketing Officers: Mary Greenwood, Amanda Shaw 
Membership Recruiters: Chris Rigby.
Venue Booker: Steph Bennett

Finance and Membership team

Finance and Administration Manager: Chris Haddock
Finance Assistant: Anne Taylor (Faye Crawford)
Senior Facilities Officer: Rob Davies
Senior Membership & Data Administrator: Kate Harnott
Membership & Data Administrator: Mandy Naylor
Membership & Data Administrator: Sonya Skinner
Senior Personnel Officer: Claire Ladell
Senior Administration Officer: Justine Burton
Administration Officer: Albert Evans
Administration Officer: Rosabel Fowkes

Want to talk to us?

Contact us