Wildlife heroes receive Badger's Paw awards

Twelve of our longstanding volunteers have been recognised for their great contribution to wildlife conservation
Image of Badger's Paw award winners 2018

Six of this year's Badger's Paw award winners, with John Farmer (left), Stephen Trotter (centre) and Peter Bullard (right)

All of the award-winners were recognised at  our recent Members’ Conference held at Tullie House Museum, Carlisle. Outgoing Director Peter Bullard praised the recipients for their unfailing support for over many years: “I’m delighted to recognise some of our longstanding supporters for their tireless work for wildlife over the years - some have worked with us for as long as 30 years! It’s a privilege to show our gratitude to them by awarding them all with a Badger’s Paw. Cumbria Wildlife Trust is indebted to them for their dedication and hard work in a wide range of important roles, whether it’s working for our local groups, helping on our nature reserves or taking part in wildlife surveys and conservation projects. Their hard work has had a huge and positive impact on the conservation of Cumbria’s wildlife and wild places.”

Peter then presented six of the volunteers with their awards and the others will be receiving their awards at suitable opportunities. Among the recipients is Roland Walmsley of Milnthorpe, one of our oldest volunteers at over 90 years old. He was awarded the plaudit in recognition for his work over several years as a regular osprey watch volunteer at Foulshaw Moss Nature Reserve where he talks to visitors about the ospreys and helps them get the most out of their visits. 

Paul Waterhouse, Reserves Officer with Cumbria Wildlife Trust said: “Roland is brilliant with visitors; he has a great sense of humour and really enjoys chatting to them about the ospreys and other wildlife.”  Roland who describes himself as a ‘newcomer’ to bird watching (he only started in 1938!) was awarded his Badger’s Paw at an end-of-season get together for Foulshaw Moss volunteers.  

Below are details of all 12 recipients:

Peter Barron of Keswick (for his outstanding work in the Northern Lakes and at Ivy Crag and Boathouse Field Nature Reserves)

Barbara Blatchford of Kendal (for her enduring commitment to Kendal Local Support Group)

Debbie Coleman of Kirkby Stephen (for his dedication to Kirkby Stephen Local Support Group)

Peter Hearn of Kirkby in Furness (for his outstanding commitment to South Walney Nature Reserve)

John Hooson of Kendal (for his valuable work conserving wildlife on National Trust properties)

Ruth Jeffreys of Kirkby Lonsdale (for her dedication to Kirkby Lonsdale Local Support Group)

Steve Matthewman of Carnforth (for his commitment to the Trust’s nature reserves, and as Honorary Reserve Manager for Park Wood Nature Reserves)

Yvonne Miller of Ulverston (for her care for and protection of Lowick Common, which was generously given as a gift to Cumbria Wildlife Trust earlier this year)

Maureen Richards of Coniston (for her enduring devotion to Cumbria’s mountain flora and fauna)

Dyane Silvester of Arnside (for her long-standing support in writing wildlife articles for the media)

Judith Wallen of Kendal (as a much-valued Committee member and Trustee, her botanical surveys and her tireless work with the Trust’s volunteers)

Roland Walmsley of Milnthorpe (for his dedicated commitment to the Foulshaw Moss osprey project)

Image of Roland Walmsley at Foulshaw Moss Nature Reserve

Volunteer and Badger's Paw recipient Roland Walmsley at Foulshaw Moss Nature Reserve